Skip to main content

September is Leukemia & Lymphoma Awareness Month

Types of Blood Cancers

Leukemia, lymphoma, myeloma, and myelodysplastic syndromes (MDS) are types of cancer that can affect the bone marrow, the blood cells, the lymph nodes, and other parts of the lymphatic system. These cancers change the way blood cells behave and how well they work. You have three types of blood cells: 

  1. White blood cells fight infection as part of your immune system.
  2. Red blood cells carry oxygen to your body's tissues and organs and bring carbon dioxide to your lungs so you can breathe it out.
  3. Platelets help your blood clot when you're injured.

There are three major types of blood cancer:

  1. Leukemia;
  2. Lymphoma; and
  3. Myeloma.

People who have Leukemia, make a lot of white blood cells that can't fight infections. Leukemia is divided into four types based on the kind of white blood cell it affects and whether it grows quickly (acute) or slowly (chronic). Lymphoma is a cancer of the lymph system. This network of vessels includes your lymph nodes, spleen, and thymus gland. These vessels store and carry white blood cells to help your body fight infections. Lymphomas start in white blood cells called lymphocytes. Myeloma is a cancer of the plasma cells in the bone marrow. Plasma cells are a type of white blood cell that makes antibodies. Both types are divided into a few subtypes. The subtypes are based on where in the body cancer started and how it behaves.

For more information on the facts about Leukemia & Lymphoma Cancer visit here.

Useful Links: